Let’s talk about THAT palette

Have you ever tried so hard to love something, but you're fighting a losing battle?

No, this isn't some break up story, this is my experience with THAT palette.

The day Subculture was released, I was refreshing the website pretty much all day waiting for the launch. It hit 5pm, it launched, I paid, we were good to go. I even paid over £10 for next day delivery, but let's not talk about that.

I was beyond excited when I got home to see the parcel on the side waiting for me. I took it upstairs, undid the packaging, swatched the shadows and could cry because they were so beautiful.

I couldn't wait, so I sat at my dressing table and started playing with the shadows, seeing what they were like on my eyes.

Surprisingly, I was confused. I was trying to blend. Blend a bit more. Just a bit more. Nothing. Wherever I first put my brush down is where the pigment would stick. I would try and try to blend the product. Nothing. It wouldn't work. Maybe it's me? Maybe my brushes need washing? (which couldn't be because I'd just washed them, I know, a miracle for me), maybe I'm not working fast enough?

I gave up, went to make my tea, and didn't think much more about it.

Since then, I have watched YouTube video after YouTube video. I have seen influencers love it and seen influencers hate it. But, on Saturday night, I thought I'd give it another go.

May I add, I even bought new make up brushes to use this with second time around to see if that would help. I also contacted Anastasia Beverly Hills, and they told me some primers to use, but, in my opinion, I shouldn't have to spend more money on primers because their palette is hard to work with.

So again, I sat down and I tried and tried, using colours I would normally use so I knew what I was doing and wasn't trying to pretend I'm creative, but alas, nothing. The eyeshadow would stick to one spot, the blending was impossible, it looked muddy and cakey and like something a 5 year old would manage with her mum's makeup. Disappointed to say the least, I gave up.

I think the final straw for me was watching Jamie Genevieve's video and seeing that she had the same issues. If the queen of blending can't master it, then there's no hope for me, so I decided to return it.

However, since that video, she has managed an eye look and put it on YouTube, but again said that for an expensive palette, you shouldn't have to put in so much work, something which I wholeheartedly agree with.

As you can see from this picture, I had a really hard time with "Electric". I just found that there was no pigment pay off whether I used a dry brush, wet brush, my finger, nothing.

It's such a shame, because Modern Renaissance is the easiest palette to work with, and something I would repurchase time and time again. The shades in Subculture are so beautiful. I could have died when it was released because I was so excited to get my hands on it and get creative, but unfortunately, it was nothing but disappointment.

Frustratingly, some people do not see the issue. Their palettes are wonderful and the shades blend beautifully, but for others like myself, this is far from the case.

If you're going to buy this palette then by all means do so, hopefully you'll get one of the good ones, but if not, you may receive arm ache from blending eyeshadow that is stubborn.

Have you tried it? Unfortunately, I am sending mine back tomorrow as I can't justify £50+ (including delivery which they won't refund, btw) for something which I will get no use from.

2 thoughts on “Let’s talk about THAT palette

Leave a Reply

