What I learnt from #GIRLBOSS

Bad times don’t last forever, rubbish jobs won’t change unless you do something about it, what matters now may not matter in 5 years, and for the love of god, prioritise your savings.

These are just. few things that #GIRLBOSS taught me. A few things I definitely needed to hear.

If you don’t know already, #GIRLBOSS is a book written by Founder and CEO of the American retailer Nasty Gal, Sophia Amoruso. For a bit of a backstory, Sophia started off selling vintage items on eBay, and now owns what was voted the “Fastest Growing Retailer” in 2012 by INC magazine. Not bad for someone who started on eBay, right?

I picked up #GIRLBOSS from WHSmith as I’d seen a lot of bloggers either 1) talk about it, or 2) have it in every flatlay picture possible, so, I went along and bought it. And I am so glad that I did.

Sophia leaves nothing to the imagination, she tells you pretty much everything – her highs, her lows, how things can be pretty shit before they start to get better. How not every successful person you see has always been that way. And, to be honest, it is nice to hear that.

IMG_7954

Sophia explains the worst things she’s done, the way she would work just for the money, because that’s all she wanted, she is raw and honest and truthful.

I do not want to completely ruin the book for you, but I just wanted to give you an insight, a bit of a background into her life, before I talk about what it has done for me.

Invest in your future.

I have always told myself “this week I will open a savings account”, yet never done it. Always known that I am independent and when I move out I want to be able to support myself, but still, never done it. Until I read this book. Sophia said one thing that stuck with me and hit home. Treat your savings like a bill, something you must pay every month. That was it. I went to my local branch and opened a savings account and put money in it there and then. Now, on the first day of every month, I transfer money to my savings account, and this is something I do religiously. I would never dream of missing a payment for my car insurance, so why should I act differently towards my future?

Bad times are only temporary. You don’t know what’s around the corner.

Reading through Sophia’s life, you see what she has been through. You see that she may run a multi-million dollar company, but it’s been one hell of a tough time getting there. Ride the wave, get on with it, cry when you need to, shout when you have to, but when that’s all done, sit down and look at the bigger picture. “My life’s a mess” I tell myself, yet what about in a year? In a year I could have everything I want, then again, maybe not. It could happen tomorrow, in six months, in five years. Why dwell on this? Some things you cannot change, some things have to happen, everyone has a plan and right now, this is yours. Yours to work through, have a large G&T and a moan, and carry on.

Comparisons? What’s the point?

I know I am guilty of looking at someone and thinking “wow, they’ve made it”, or “wow, look at their car”. You get the picture. But this just isn’t the case. Take social media for example, you see the life people want to show you, you don’t see them at their worst, the arguments with their boyfriends, their family issues, their bad make up days, the days when their bloating is making them self conscious beyond belief. Because they don’t show that. Again, you see that woman with the nice car? You know nothing about her, you have seen a snippet of her life as you pass her by down the street. She may have saved up her entire life just for that car. She may own her own company. She may have had the hardest life possible and has worked her arse off to reward herself., or quite simply, she may have just hired it.

Never judge a book by its cover, because you never know the truth behind them.

If you don’t work for it then who will?

There is no point moaning that good things don’t come your way if you are not willing to work for it. Working for something can be long, boring and quite frankly disheartening sometimes if you are impatient (guilty), but the feeling of achieving something you have worked so hard for is beyond any feeling you can imagine. The feeling of accomplishment is second to none. You never know, you may be working hard for something and something even better may come along.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

