DOING THINGS MY WAY

Blogging is something I’ve wanted to do for a long time. It’s something I have watched on Instagram for well over two years now, and something I have also followed on bloggers websites too. I think there’s something so positive about being able to put yourself out there and be creative with your writing and your photos and your content. People supporting each other is so nice to see in this day and age, because it can be quite rare.

I have wanted to blog but never followed it through. I’ve had one blog before, wrote one or two posts, maybe, and quit. I think my main reason for this was because I linked my blog to my current social media platforms, i.e. my personal Instagram, and this wasn’t the right way to go about things, not for me, anyway. I know this is something I want to do and something I really enjoy, but it’s also something I’m terrified of. What if people I know begin to follow me, what if I end up in their group chats as a screenshot for them to laugh at, what if people tell me I can’t do it? Or if they think I’m stupid for doing it? These were thoughts constantly going through my head when I started last time, and these thoughts were something I couldn’t shake, so I quit.

This time, I have gone about things my way. I have made a different Instagram account solely for my blogging and I haven’t put myself out there in front of people I know (apart from a few of my bae’s), and this is just the way I wanted to do things.

I am a very carefree, “I don’t care what people think” person in some ways, but in other ways, I care so much what people think. It’s solely a case of me being a worrier. I worry about absolutely everything, over and over again. No matter how big or small, I’ve worried over it. Constantly getting myself worked up. Don’t ask me why, because I don’t know. I just fret and it’s my worst trait. I am getting better, however.

The thing is, it’s only the people you care about whose opinions really matter. The people who love you will always support you no matter what. Not what someone from high school or the gym thinks of you.

I love fashion, I love make up, I love travelling, I love trying new things and exploring places, and I love these things so much that I want to get my ideas and thoughts and love for these written down somewhere that’s not on a piece of paper. I want to enjoy them even more than I already do, and for me, that includes writing about them and sharing what I think, and interacting with other people who have the same love as I do.

This isn’t about how many views I get a month, or how many different countries have viewed my blog in this past week. This, for me, is about doing something I enjoy, and interacting with other people who enjoy the same. It makes me so happy when I get an email that someone has followed my blog or liked my blogpost, because it’s so nice to feel that bit of support, and it’s so nice to support others too.

I think there’s a certain pressure when starting a blog, because some people think “oh, I need to do this like they have”, “I need to schedule my posts”. And if that’s how some people work it then that’s great because that’s what works for them, but I want to do things my way. I don’t want to be told “don’t do that”, “so and so wouldn’t do this”. Because I’m not bothered. This is how I want to do things. Something that works for one person may not work for the next, and I think this is something that a lot of people forget.

You don’t know how long you’re here for, and you don’t know what’s going to happen next, so why live in the worry of what people think? If you want to do something, go and do it. I’ve learnt to realise that when I’m all wrinkly with grey hair drinking a wonderful amount of tea every day, there’s only me who’s going to regret the things I didn’t do now. And to be honest, I’d rather catch up on all the sleep I’ve lost over my teenage years when I’m 82, not spend my life regretting.

Be kind to others, drop them a like, tell them their outfit is dope. It’s nice to be supportive.

2 thoughts on “DOING THINGS MY WAY

  1. Emma says:

    Great post! I’m just getting started with my blog and am aware that one of things that holds me back is fear of “friends” reading it, except for a few close friends. Keeping it separate from RL seems to me a good policy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

