MY BULLET JOURNAL

So, as I’m sure you have guessed by now, I’m a list writer. A jotter. Someone who does not feel themselves without some paper and a pen to write down everything. I carry round so many notebooks, I even have two diaries for 2017. WHO needs two diaries? I just want something that looks aesthetically pleasing so my notes always look better, so my life looks organised. And that is when I came across the Bullet Journal.

I was watching Lydia Elise Millen‘s “What’s in my luxury bag” video, and the first thing she pulled out was her bullet journal, in which she said that her friend, Lily Pebbles, inspired her to get one. I went to Lily’s channel and I watched her video on her Bullet Journal and I was instantly in love. I am such a stationary geek. I love making notes and writing look nice, and I love being able to add my own creativity to something, whilst it remains smart. This was my dream (sad, I know).

For those of you who have no idea what a Bullet Journal is, I’ll try my best to explain.

A bullet journal is a journal with little dots instead of lines, and most pages are blank, as well as them all being numbered. It has an index, which is sooooooo helpful, and the newest version also has tips at the back for beginners. Basically, it’s like a blank diary. Or, it can just be a notebook for you. It’s something that you can make into your own. Something you can make specific to you.

One of the Bullet Journal’s is around £12.00 on Amazon I believe, and the other, the one that I bought, and the one that Lily recommended, was around £19.10, again, from Amazon. It’s a jump up in price, I know, but from Lily’s video, the second one just seems to be so much more efficient, with tips inside to help you along your way, which are all very helpful when you’re new to bullet journalling.

img_2960

As soon as I bought mine I watched at least eleven different videos on YouTube of people designing theirs and how they would set theirs out. I mean, I thought after watching Lily’s video that I wanted mine the same as hers – clean and professional yet artistic, but then I watched all of these videos and my mind was torn once more.

For someone who loves to write and make notes, I honestly believe that this is such a good investment and one in which you will truly not regret. I know for a notebook, nearly £20 seems a lot of money, but it is so much more than that. Every spare moment I have I now spend designing my Bullet Journal, and it’s admittedly both fun, and a little bit therapeutic.

It’s going to take me a while to design it all, but it’s got to be better than carrying around two diaries AND two notebooks, surely.

img_3037

Even though I only got mine the other day, I have started mine from January, which sounds strange, but there is method in my madness:

  1. Starting from January gives me the first three months of the year to play around and find the style I want/prefer,
  2. I like filling anything and everything into my diaries so I can look back on what I did that year, so I want to do the same with my Bullet Journal,
  3. It gives me more time to practice my writing and drawing etc. I’m a little rusty as it’s been a long time since I’ve done anything creative.

I hope that this post has inspired you to watch at least one YouTube video on Bullet Journalling, or even better, persuaded you to purchase one!

img_3041

Here are some of my favourite YouTube videos on Bullet Journalling for some inspiration and more information:

  1. Lily Pebbles
  2. AmandaRachLee
  3. Caitlin’s Corner
  4. Nicole Hearts
  5. Boho Berry

For more inspiration, there’s so many pictures on Instagram – you can find them just by searching for any bullet journal hashtags, and these really help me to find inspiration.

If you have a Bullet Journal or have been inspired to buy one, please let me know in the comments, I’d love to find out. 🙂

Thanks for reading,

Liz x

Leave a Reply

